Spain: Financial Transaction Tax (FTT) – New developments for Basque Country and Navarra


Clearstream Banking1 informs customers that the FTT is now incorporated in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country and Navarra and that effective as from

1 October 2023

Taxable persons shall pay the FTT to the tax offices of the provincial councils (Vizcaya, Alava, Gipuzkoa and Navarra) and to the tax office of the common territory in proportion of the volume of transactions carried out in each territory during the tax settlement period, regardless of their tax domicile.

Impact on clients

The field 67 "IT1DNIFEMI" of the ITF001 format will become mandatory. 

A new reporting template will be published on the SFTT website by the end of September. Clients must use the new template from 20 September 2023 to report transactions settled from September 2023 and any late reporting for periods prior to September 2023.

Between 13 and 20 September 2023, the connection with Iberclear will be suspended due to the migration process to the new system. 

Consequently, clients will not be able to submit ordinary or late reporting during this period. Any such reporting will be rejected by Iberclear (Spanish CSD).

Clients will be able to submit reporting again as from 20 September 2023 onwards. Last day to submit late reporting for periods prior August 2023 shall be 13 September, until the reopening of the system on 20 September 2023.

Further information

For further information, please contact the Clearstream Banking Tax Help Desk, Clearstream Banking Client Service, or your Relationship Officer.


1. Clearstream Banking refers collectively to Clearstream Banking S.A., registered office at 42, avenue John F. Kennedy, L-1855 Luxembourg, and registered with the Luxembourg Trade and Companies Register under number B-9248, and Clearstream Banking AG, registered office at 61, Mergenthalerallee, 65760 Eschborn, Germany and registered in Register B of the Amtsgericht Frankfurt am Main, Germany under number HRB 7500.